Shopping

5 Feb

Growing up in a northwest Illinois town of 3,500 I was surprised to learn that it was considered a shopping location. In the early 1950’s it was the largest community in an 18 miles radius and had grocery, dress, drug and jewelry stores. It was even blessed with specialty shops like meat markets and had a number of auto dealers.

I currently live in a community that has a number of stores. The two malls are not feature packed but there are some choices. We also have a Target, Costco, Wal-Mart, Bi-Mart, Shopko, Sears, JC Penney, and Fred Meyer. I don’t buy that much (See Letting Go Part 1) but it is nice to have options when I do shop.

Moving to a very small town in Texas will mean longer distances for most shopping trips. I’ve heard from residents that we a lucky to have the local Dollar store. We were happy to be able to buy ice and ice cream there last summer because the Quick Mart is much more expensive and who wants to transport ice cream 20 miles when it is 108 degrees out? We also have 2 meat and veggie stores but the selection was extremely limited.

Paris (20 miles away) offers the Wal-Mart (large), Home Depot (small), Sears (tiny) and JC Penney (also tiny).  Bi-Mart and Shopko are NW chains only so they are not an option. Target along with a larger Home Depot and Lowes are 45 miles away. My list is now reduced to Fred Meyers. It is also a NW chain but is part of the larger Kroger stores. There is a Kroger grocery in Paris but we didn’t discover it until just before we left in July. I have purchased  much more than groceries at Fred Meyer. They have been the source of some of my new socks, a table that was in the breakfast area, most of our area rugs and many gallons of paint. I was excited to discover that a Kroger marketplace store is not too far from the Costco north of Dallas. So when we make those shopping treks we can do it well with lots of choices. The end result is that our new small town won’t have the convenience of that 1950 Illinois town but I can still add to the “stuff” we have just in-case we don’t have enough once we move. Who says I have to  let go of everything? Time to go Shopping!

3 Responses to “Shopping”

  1. teadleagain February 6, 2012 at 11:11 AM #

    Where’s the McDonalds and Burger King??? 😉

    • compterteach February 6, 2012 at 4:33 PM #

      If I actually visited either of those 2 establishments, I would probably list them with restaurants rather than actual places to shop. Of course if I listed them with restaurants that would mean that I’d expect to eat there. So the good news is there is neither a McDonalds nor Burger Kings in our new town. I’d have to check the yellow pages for locations in the surrounding cities but that sounds like more effort than I would put in unless you were coming to visit.

      • teadleagain February 7, 2012 at 11:29 AM #

        LOL, I didn’t know in your old age if you would need mushy food. 😉

Leave a Reply

