Coworker Support

14 Mar

When I did the 1st posting on Coworkers (January 27), I was not planning it as part of a series of posts. I planned that a follow up would be on the friends who had started as coworkers. That plan changed today when I realized how much I depend on that coworker support.

Most of us are familiar with emails that were not drafted with the best of intentions and should never have been sent. I was the recipient of such an email yesterday sent by someone who really should know better. The 1st reading produced anger. The 2nd reading had me stomping around using sailor language which I will say I do very well. The 3rd reading resulted in indignation and statements regarding unprofessional and just plan snide. Latter I was able to modify snide into sarcastic but I don’t think that is any better in this case.

I turned to those coworker friends who let me vent and then supported me by agreeing that my response to the email was correct. I didn’t want to fire off a reply based on a misreading of what had been written.  This reply needed to be letter perfect. Each word and each phrase were evaluated for tone and accuracy. In the last ten years I have improved a lot in not responding in kind to attacks. I like to think I am a better person for it. I’ll just pick my time and place for revenge. This reply passed the 3 coworker friends test before I hit the send button. Now I can wait for the next round.

The real kicker is that I spent entirely too much time today drafting that perfect reply. I have lots to do for my classes and students. An eight hour effort does not leave much time to do my job.  Even more importantly I wasted my coworkers’ valuable time in reading that perfect reply. Unfortunately this was hardly the first extra effort I’ve forced on them.  With 3 more months left before retiring, I’m sure I’ll need their help at least one more time. How can I say thank you enough for all that they have given me? Maybe we can have a jolly time drafting multiple versions of my resignation letter? Some might even be fit for framing rather than sending. They will surely be the very best. Accept my Thank You in advance.

4 Responses to “Coworker Support”

  1. bctoltman March 14, 2012 at 8:39 PM #

    Takes a village to raise a “retiree 2be.”….

  2. compterteach March 15, 2012 at 5:47 AM #

    And I reside in a great village. Thank you

  3. nhowardwenatchee March 15, 2012 at 6:45 AM #

    I look forward to the drafting of that retirement letter. I’m not hitting that peak for several years, but am already drafting my resignation letter and speech to the masses at that lovely EOY event we all so love attending. Of couse the drafting always comes in times of anger and frustration generated by the workplace.

    Practice on your letter will, I hope, tender mine more calm and palatable.

    • compterteach March 15, 2012 at 8:16 AM #

      This is why I so depend on those special cowork friends!

Leave a Reply

