Not Yet Retired

29 Apr

I can tell that I am not yet retired. Life has gotten in the way of my postings. Last week I suffered from major brain drain while attending a conference. I learned so much that I can put to use immediately and will be sharing with my coworkers. The level of input overwhelmed me. It has been a long time since I have been a student. I truly admire their dedication.

This week I was busy trying to catch up with my classes and kicking work on the house into high gear. We have accomplished so much but have so much more to do. The place is really starting to shape up. I hope someone else will see the charm and character if not the hard work that has been poured into this house.

We hosted a party today. It was delightful to have our friends and family collect and share stories of lives and adventures. There is never enough time to spend with each guest but it is so nice to have them together. I love spending hours planning, cleaning and then cooking way too much food but I really love the sharing it with all of them.

We renewed our wedding vows as part of the celebration. When we married 10 years ago, it was just the two of us. I cried during the ceremony because the vows the judge had chosen touched me. Even though I had reread those vows as we planned the party, I was surprised when I started to cry today. Having a friend (and former student) help us renew those vows added to the level of emotion. I could tell how involved she was as we pledged again for this next chapter of our lives.

Now I should really get started on grading and planning classes for the next week, but not right now. I think I’ll fix a plate of leftovers and put my feet up. I’m not yet retired but I am tired! Tomorrow is another day.

One Response to “Not Yet Retired”

  1. gramajan April 29, 2012 at 8:57 PM #

    Congratulations on renewing your wedding vows. That sounds like a particularly auspicious way to start this new chapter of your lives together.

Leave a Reply

