The Days Are Marching On

14 May

Life has been much too hectic and demanding lately. I have said more than once that I really don’t have time to go to school and teach everyday. There have been 2 conferences, 1 conference presentation, 4 midterms to write and then routine class assignment grading. I am always behind on something but mostly it has been no time for me. Where is the front porch swing with a good book on a rainy afternoon when you need it?

I have yet to start counting the days but I did realize that we have 4 more weeks of classes . My instructor duties will end 2 weeks after that on my official retirement date – June 30th . I look at the stuff in my office knowing where part of those two weeks will be spent!  I’ve tried to get a running start on packing, but there is so much more to go. I really need to make best friends with the shredder bin right now.

We are getting excited about the move. We were contacted a few weeks ago about the 3 foot high grass in our new yard. It is not easy to find someone to keep the grass cut to its legal length of 9 inches when you are 2000 miles away. We think we have that handled for now but my husband can’t wait to fire up his riding lawn mower and get to work. If we could just find the packing fairies that will transport everything for free, my days would be so much freer!

4 Responses to “The Days Are Marching On”

  1. gramajan May 14, 2012 at 5:50 PM #

    You’re getting close to the final mad scramble. I don’t envy you that part, but hope it will go as smoothly as possible and that the new home more than meets expectations.

    • compterteach May 14, 2012 at 9:10 PM #

      Thank you. I could use a smooth transition.

  2. nhowardwenatchee May 14, 2012 at 8:04 PM #

    I counted for you. Including Tuesday May 15, you have 23 teaching and testing days left. YIKES!!!

    • compterteach May 14, 2012 at 9:10 PM #

      This is why you are such a good friend. This way I can always say “I never counted the days!”

Leave a Reply

