Packing My Closet

8 Jun

It dawned on me that I could start packing my closet. I have 6 official work days left, 4 of which qualify for casual dress. I could decide today what I’ll wear on Monday and Tuesday but I normally don’t plan a wardrobe that far ahead.

Monday will be the last day for my regular classes so that means the last wearing of my tradition. I’ve started and ended every school year for the last 6 years with my navy blue suit and my red sneakers. I should be able to select a shirt to go with the suit so that just leaves Tuesday.

Tuesday is the end of the year celebration. Dress code for the party is tropical shirts. I have a dozen of them so now the problem is to pick one. The last day of school (excluding finals) should be special. Maybe I’ll select a shirt to go with my slime green sneakers. I could then wear the red sneakers again on Wednesday for finals. Maybe I’ll end the week with actual denim jeans which I never wear to school.

In the mean time I am back to packing my closet. There seems to be a lot of blazers. Do I really want to keep that many? Should I limit my selection to 3 of each color? What about different shades of blue or green? Should I  get a second box for the garage sale? Can I part with them? Maybe I’ll use that second box to pack all of them for moving. I don’t want to make too many decisions to start my retirement! Tomorrow is another day.

2 Responses to “Packing My Closet”

  1. gramajan June 8, 2012 at 7:29 AM #

    The need to downsize may pressure us into decisions we’ll regret later. When you start “spinning your wheels” it’s time to postpone some of those decisions. There can be more yard sales and thrift shop donations at the other end of the journey. I’m still making decisions about some of the things (papers, mementos, “interesting junk”)I brought from my mother’s house. I don’t want to leave a mess for my kids to deal with, but I’m contenting myself with sorting and organizing most of it.

  2. Nancy June 8, 2012 at 7:36 AM #

    Three of each color? No wonder you had to build so many new wardrobes for the house you are leaving. Some of us actually live and work just fine with one blazer of each color–and only four or five colors!

    Planning, planning planning. You have not fooled any of us. You claim to be a last minute, never plan ahead, teach on the fly person. But we all know better. That teacher brain of yours never turns off. It is always thinking and plotting and formulating and connecting and organizing. Then it pushes the other brains aside, comes to the forefront of your consciousness, and says, “Here’s what you are doing for class X today and tomorrow and here’s why, and here’s how it fits with the outcomes and objectives and the skills of this particular crop of beasties.”

    You have not fooled any of us.

Leave a Reply

