Magazine Subscriptions

10 Jun

One sure sign that you are moving is changing the address for magazines. Yes, I know actually getting physical copies of magazines is old school but we do and probably will continue to do so at least for a while. I have a basic Kindle which I love but there is something to be said for the feel of a real book. I have a desktop computer, a laptop and a netbook but haven’t seen a model of tablet I’d buy nor the need for it at this time. My Smart Computing for June has an article on them if I ever take the time to actually sit down to read it. Maybe I’d see the need and find a model but that is not really my problem.

Smart Computing and National Geographic are delivered in a plastic bag sleeve with the mailing address on a sheet inside. That is really nice except remembering that I need that mailing address to do the change of address online. It contains that elusive customer number.

Other magazines put the customer number right on the magazine. For those changing addresses should be really easy if you have a copy of the magazine. I tend to keep them for a few weeks or years but my husband does not. He reads them and promptly throws them away. This is Sunday but the recycling was collected on Friday. I can’t find a couple of his fishing magazines that I know came. Because I don’t read them, I’m not even certain of their names so there is no hope of doing the address change. In a few months it might be nice to have those because we might even take time to go fishing.

Long ago the post office had been very good about forwarding every bit of mail. That is not the case now.  They now have a temporary forwarding service at $15.25 per week for up to 1 month or regular forwarding for 1st class. Magazines are no longer identified in the forwarding instructions. The next dilemma will be to have the mail forwarded immediately at the end of this month or held until the end of July and forwarded then. I will be back twice in July so I could add a trip to the post office on to the long list of people to see and things to do when I fly in and drive out. We have a busy post office. I’ve never been in it when there wasn’t a long line. That sounds painful.

Having things forwarded at the end of the month should work ok. I am having our TX mail held until we pick it up the 1st week of July. There really shouldn’t be much. Only our insurance agent there insisted on using the TX mailing address but that is another story. If the Washing mail is added, the post office will know that we are serious. Of course that means we actually have to have a place to mount the mailbox. The last time we saw it, it was parked on the edge of the porch which is not finished. We will need to clear the walk as well because the mail is delivered to the house. I’ll bet we will even get to know our delivery person! Can’t wait.

3 Responses to “Magazine Subscriptions”

  1. Nancy June 10, 2012 at 7:57 AM #

    Be very careful with the wording on all those “hold mail” and “forward mail” orders. Both my husband’s parents are dead–one for over 8 years now, and we still get the odd piece of mail for one of them here, and for Dick in Colorado, after a SNAFU with forwarding when the folks lived with us for a summer just after the turn of the millennium.

    Wording, it seems, is everything–particularly with the government. Everything is exactly what you say. Everything is only black and white, no shades of grey ever acknowledged.

    And that promise that the senders of your mail will get notice of your new address? Well, maybe, and just maybe the senders have a process in place to acknowledge said notice.

    Nine months after moving my folks out of the family home and providing all the information the USPS web site had space for, the carrier finally noticed no one lived in the house and stopped delivering. Yes, I have gone online trying to change addresses with all the important senders (insurance, financials etc.) and they send a paper form, through the mail, to the old address, requesting paper signatures to confirm the online requests. And remember, those paper requests go to the address where no one lives–no one.

    I am glad you know who will be living at your soon-to-be old address. May I suggest leaving some big prepaid USPS mailers? Those “if it fits, it ships” boxes really do work and really are one flat rate, and the medium can fit all magazines and mailers.

  2. compterteach June 10, 2012 at 8:05 AM #

    Thanks for the heads up. I often am amazed at the oddities of the USPS. After we moved to Aberdeen, we got mail for my ex husband who never lived in the Auburn house! When ever possible I am notifying everyone of the address change directly. And yes, there are lots of reasons to be happy that we know the next occupants of this house.

  3. gramajan June 10, 2012 at 4:39 PM #

    I still occasionally get mail for my brother (who died seven years ago, and never lived here) because Sarah initially had his mail sent to her apartment, and it followed her here when she lived with us for a while. I’ve received mail for my mom and for my ex-husband also. Part of it probably has to do with the selling of mailing lists, and the people-finding services that link one name with another, however incorrectly. Changing addresses is a real pain. I hope it goes smoothly for you. Leaving a few prepaid mailers behind sounds like a good idea.

Leave a Reply

