End of the Year Celebration

12 Jun

Today is the end of the year celebration at school. I’ve always thought that the word “celebration” was misused here. It has been a “function” but most of the skits and activities didn’t ever really connect for me. I’m happy that they did for others but for me it has been a function I felt the need to attend.

One part of the agenda has always made me envious. We recognize those individuals who have reached milestones like 10, 15, 25, 40 years at the college. I knew from the beginning that I would be hard pressed to reach any of those goals. I originally planned for 10 years but when you take a new job at age 60, celebrating 40 years of employment there is not realistic.

This year, however, does feel like a celebration. Retirement is a special milestone and I am ready to celebrate it with my friends. We will have 3 days of finals before the “you are leaving” will reach critical mass. For today I will wear one of my many tropical shirts with my new shades of hot pink tiger stripped socks and my lime (slime) green sneakers. It will be a good day.

Leave a Reply

