Slowing Down

22 Oct

In all the years I’ve been remodeling houses, I’ve never really hurt myself seriously. I’ve had the occasional nail through my shoe but without serious damage. I should have fallen from ladders when I tried to do too much but have gotten smarter in my old age. I have now received a serious injury and it had nothing to do with my foolishness. I went to move a foam insulation panel that was in front of a stack of about 8 drywall sheets leaned against the wall. The whole stack came down on me knocking me about 15 feet across the room. I hit my head against the floor hard enough to give me about a 2 inch cut (8 staples), a slight skull fracture and a tiny subdermal hematoma. I was taken to 1st Bonham and then to Plano (just north of Dallas) ER. I spent Friday night to Sunday afternoon in Plano’s neuro ICU. Can’t say it has been fun. Still dizzy as hell if I move too fast. I should be back to normal in about 2 weeks.

I’ll actually have to do the classic retirement thing of taking it easy for a while. I can’t even stop to smell the roses because bending over also triggers the dizzies. Even I’ll be hard pressed to find too much that I can do towards remodeling or unpacking if I can’t look down, bend over, push or pull anything heavy and lifting anything heavier than my purse is out of the question. Maybe I’ll work ahead on my class if it doesn’t make me too frustrated sitting at the computer.

2 Responses to “Slowing Down”

  1. Nancy October 22, 2012 at 6:19 AM #

    AAAAHHHHHH!
    I am so sorry. Please be your wiser self and follow the doc’s orders. Head injuries can be insidious! And then when they begin to subside, you feel all the other injuries from that trip across the room.

    • compterteach October 22, 2012 at 8:11 AM #

      I will come close to following orders – my body won’t let me do anything but follow orders. The other aches and pains are mainly in my neck (nothing broken) and set in immediately. Not my best weekend!

Leave a Reply

