Chilly

28 Oct

I had been teasing my Washington friends about the weather. This last week they had snow in the hills and I was in shorts. That was part of the reason we came south. I had promised Harry that we would have warmer winters. Since his stroke, the cold has bothered him a great deal. Last year I bought him a Therma care bear that could be placed in the microwave and then tucked into bed like a hot rock to keep his feet warm. We have boxes of the hand warmer and toe warmer packages. We purchased them when we saw them at Costco not knowing if we would see them again. We didn’t use that many and I had a difficult decision when we moved. I had planned to give a box or two to my friends who are frequently cold but it didn’t happen.  Maybe that was for the best.

We are having a cold snap. This is the second one of the year and because of my head injury, we are no more  prepared than last time. My cousin in Minnesota was joking about seeing someone at the dog park who had on a parka and stocking cap in 59 degree weather. When it is less than that temperature in the kitchen, I think a stocking cap is sensible.  I am happy that the portable heaters have the family and living rooms up to 55. I will wait a little longer to do the dishes because the kitchen is still in the mid 40’s.  I did dig through to find another heater so maybe I can get the kitchen warmer if I don’t blow the circuit.  This is passing. Tomorrow will be much warmer and we will be back to 80 by the end of the week. More importantly the low tomorrow will move back to the 40’s.

We do need to make some changes because this cold snap can be followed by more and the 80 days will soon be the rare ones rather than the normal. The plumber is due back at the end of this week to hook up the gas heaters. The electricians are also expected so we can switch from old to new wiring. It will be nice to know that the back up heaters can be used without issue. I’ll get ready to finally put some insulation in the attic. We may also build a solar room heater for a south facing window. Now is the time to put some of those energy saving ideas to work. Too bad they aren’t ready today.  I think I’ll go put some toe warmers in my shoes. Did I mention that we are having a cold snap?

2 Responses to “Chilly”

  1. bctoltman October 28, 2012 at 11:53 AM #

    Wool socks work! Seeing snow on our hills doesn’t help to feel warm. Try the hat to keep the heat “in.”

    • compterteach October 28, 2012 at 1:15 PM #

      Haven’t found the suitcase or box with the wool socks. I did find a couple of hats so we are holding our own. Double layer of sweatshirts feels a bit bulky.

Leave a Reply

