Time at Thanksgiving

17 Nov

My 1904 Webster’s unabridged dictionary defines time a number of ways but for me the most important is #4 “The duration of one’s life; the hours and days which a person has at his disposal.”  The modern online version gives more definitions and includes expanded examples but they don’t sum it up as clearly for me. For each of us that duration will change but none of us know just how long it will be from the beginning.  This is not an announcement that I’ve been told I have X number days or weeks to live but rather an assessment at this point. My head injury has made me feel mortal and frustrated at the limitations that remind me whenever I turn or look up or down too fast and get dizzy that I’m not the same . It has only been a month so my full recovery expectations are unreasonable but we are talking about the hours and days at my disposal.! I have things to do and I want to do them NOW.

In the 1st months of living here, we joked about how it reminded us of the cabin. We would take morning and evening walks with the dog(s), sit on the deck to enjoy the view and curl up with a book to pass a hot afternoon. We have done the same here.  I still use the water pitchers we had because we had no running water there and here there is no running water in the kitchen at this time. After 3 1/2 months of camping, I’m ready to move to the next stage. I want most if not all of the drywall on the kitchen walls. I want the base cabinets pushed into place and at least a piece of plywood forming a counter-top. I had said my goal was to have a real oven/stove to fix Thanksgiving dinner and we have that. We can even sit at the dinning room table although I will probably drape the stacks of boxes in the corners with sheets so I don’t have to look at them. I know where the serving dishes and the good china and silver are located. I can access the table cloth and napkins although I can’t remember for sure where I saw the candles. I can do Thanksgiving dinner even if it will be missing good friends and family.  The kitchen may not make my expectations but Thanksgiving will and I have another month before Christmas. I may not know what the date is today but I do know what day of the week it is and it is just one day in the time of my life.

4 Responses to “Time at Thanksgiving”

  1. bctoltman November 18, 2012 at 6:58 PM #

    Enjoying your postings. Someday you can reflect on all this. When? Does it matter…. Take care of yourself. I remember all the Thanksgiving dinners. Thank you for that. Enjoy the lack of snow and cold. Swat the flies and enjoy….! TTYL

  2. compterteach November 19, 2012 at 3:58 AM #

    We are swatting the flies! How did you know? Miss you. Maybe someday soon your time will be such that you can go back to joining us at Thanksgiving.

  3. Becky December 8, 2012 at 10:40 PM #

    We moved into our new house May last year, but the built-in dining room table wasn’t finished, so we ate meals on the kitchen counter for 6 months. Last year for Thanksgiving I asked for the benches to be finished: they were constructed but not finished, so we draped blankets over them to avoid food stains, but had a Thanksgiving dinner in the new dining room, and not in the kitchen. Yippee!

    • compterteach December 9, 2012 at 4:09 AM #

      Those will be the things your children remember most when they think of Thanksgiving as a child. I remember the Thanksgiving I moved to Seattle. Dinner was turkey TV dinners (foil tray and all) with cranberries on the side. We sat on the floor because all of the furniture was in the truck. I wasn’t a child but it is a memory I can picture clearly without having a photo.

Leave a Reply

