Coffee

7 Dec

Coffee has been a tradition in my family for generations. My grandmother was known for her coffee. Upon entering her house, you were expected to go to the kitchen and pour a mug. Children under the age of twelve were exempt but by a 12th birthday, you were obligated to join the adults. A teenager was allowed to add milk and/or sugar but those items were frowned for the adults.  She boiled her coffee and the pot sat on the stove from dawn till dusk with more coffee and water poured in as the day wore on. A fresh pot was just not something she did. My grandfather seemed to like it that way and was an expert at filtering out any stray grounds with his teeth. I was not. The coffee was strong enough to make Turkish coffee appear weak. The family made jokes about a spoon standing up before it dissolved.

My mother used a percolator for her coffee.  She drank between 5 and 7 cups per day for most of her life. Like her mother the pot was always on and the mugs were close for any visitor. She did, however, make a fresh pot if it was later in the day. Once she learned to use the microwave, she would pull the plug on the percolator and reheat her coffee through out the day. She didn’t like it as strong as her mother; in fact it was usually too weak.  Going a little light on the ground coffee was her way of being frugal. After my dad passed, she stopped buying the expensive Folgers and settled for store brands, the cheaper the better.

I was 25 before I learned to like coffee. At that time it needed both cream and sugar but I slowly switched to just a little artificial sweetener. That in itself created issues because it just didn’t taste right if I used sugar rather than saccharine. I could drop one little 1/4 gram tablet into my cup and the coffee was perfect. I’m sure I used a percolator in the early days but switched to a drip filter in the 70’s and then to an automatic drip when they came out. I prefer the cone filter variety but the filter is now gold and reusable. The saccharine has been replaced by Splenda and the Yuban coffee was replaced with fresh ground. I have never been fond of Starbucks or even the smell of Starbucks. I am one of those who think it smells burned. Memories of my grandmother’s coffee override what may actually be a good coffee. It just isn’t for me. Costco offered a San Fransisco  french roast  that did the job.  Two cups first thing in the morning and I was good for the day.

We now live 75 miles from the nearest Costco. It is an all day trek and something we don’t even do once a month which had been our original plan. I was disappointed because they did not carry the same coffee brands. They, like the Kroger store, do offer Starbucks but the other brands are organic Mayan selections that I had never tried before. I wish they had had a coffee tasting demo. The two types I tried don’t have a deep rich flavor.  So here we sit with Folgers and bad coffee while I decide what to try next. I can’t blame it all on the brand of coffee. The second part of the mix is the water and our tap water is not the best for taste. The chlorine and minerals give it a strong aftertaste that doesn’t help the coffee.  So it is time to try again and add filtered water. Maybe I should try Starbucks with the tap water. Can 2 bad tastes produce a good one? I’ll let you know.

 

2 Responses to “Coffee”

  1. bctoltman December 10, 2012 at 11:12 AM #

    Have you considered one of those Kuerig coffee makers???

  2. compterteach December 10, 2012 at 6:45 PM #

    Not really. Brewing one cup at a time just doesn’t make sense to me.

Leave a Reply

