More Spring With Robins

25 Jan

Decades ago I lived in the Puget Sound area. On New Year’s day I will call my mother who still lived in northern Illinois. As part of that conversation, I would tell her that the back yard was covered with newly arrived robins. Her response was to swear at me and hang up. She would immediately call back but she had made her point. New Year’s day in northern Illinois was often snowy with temps ranging from zero to a tropical mid twenties.

We have had a number of days that feel like Spring with temps in the low 70’s. Today brought a change with the temperature dropping to the mid 50’s but Spring was still in the air, and in the trees and across the yard. The robins have arrived in mass. There were hundreds in all parts of the yard many signing their hearts out. I didn’t notice when they left, but they are here now. Their timing perfectly matches the activity of the worms in the backyard as well.  It may be a little late in the month, but I’d sure my mother would be impressed.

Leave a Reply

