Shoes

15 Jul

Like many woman I have always loved shoes. During my mortgage company days I had 22 pairs of high heels in a rainbow of colors. I hung on to them when I owned the Chinese restaurant although I was more concerned about those that were comfortable over just the style and comfort. Then my feet grew. I cried when I had to place all of those shoes into the Goodwill bag. Since then I have had to replace my shoe collect 3 more times although I rarely add a pair of heels. Hopefully my feet take a break one and half sizes larger than I started.  Even now, however, I still have 2 pairs of black flats, 2 pairs of black low heels,a pair of brown ones,  10 pairs of dressy sandals, 3 pairs of Keen knock off sandals, a dozen pairs of boots and 6 or 7 pairs of sneakers. In other words, I still have a lot of shoes. The new wardrobes that I have yet to build will have provisions for shoes in the lower level.

My husband has sharply reduced his shoe collection. He has 4 or 5 pairs of sneakers, 2 pairs of sandals, 6 or 7 pairs of boots and one pair of dress shoes. He hopes to not wear the dress shoes again until our cruise. His feet have also grown a lot in the past ten years having increased 2 full sizes. His new wardrobe will also need a place to store his shoes.

One of the things we share is the tendency to leave our shoes where ever we were sitting when we take them off. He has a more limited range of places he sits so we usually don’t have to look too far before we find his. Mine tend to be all over the house. Living room, both bedrooms, bathroom, family room, back door step and even the corner of the kitchen are all fair game. One of the many reasons I love my husband is that he never complains about the scattering of my foot wear. It is an essential part of our relationship. That was not the case with any of my earlier husbands. Of course I did learn to be careful about exactly where I leave my shoes. I try to never leave them in the major paths through the house. The neat stack in front of a chair in the living room is much better than the middle of the room.  Really don’t want to have either of us taking a fall when we need to concentrate on avoiding the moving pet obstacles occupying the middle of the walkway. Thank goodness that they don’t wear shoes!

Leave a Reply

