Creating Posts

1 Aug

This is my 134th post over the last 1 1/2 years. That to me is amazing considering the remodel projects and the travel that has also been squeezed into that same time.  Ideas for posts continue to pop into mind especially when I am walking the dog but they also pop right back out by the time I sit down at the computer. I’ve tried to hand write them into a notebook as soon as we return but seems to get sidetracked and it never takes much to have that wonderful idea fade to a “what was I thinking?” Maybe they were really all bad ideas that were never really going to ever come together.

I have had to add another step before I start typing that new idea. I search my own blog to see if I’ve already written about that before! I had to do that to know what version of Flatten Fauna was up next.  I know that as a basic storyteller I have told some stories many many times. When I told business or computer stories to classes, I could be comfortable knowing that only a few students had already heard that story. That is not true of this blog. I have friends who have suffered through every post. For one it must be a very difficult task. She is an English writing teacher and I am clearly not a perfectionist with proper writing style. I occasionally will reword a sentence so it doesn’t end with a preposition but other times I am just not that creative.  Over the last year I have had other bloggers check the box to follow this blog. I’m not sure how many continue to do so or if it was just one post that caught their eye. For most of them, I didn’t find interest in their blog to check that some box. Recently a writer started to follow me and I’ve found her writing interesting to date in return. She may inspire me to go back to writing the novel as she works on hers or I may continue to have it on the back burner as I have done for the last decade or two.

Some of those 134 posts have been good, some have been fair and a few were just ramblings. I know when I’ve really hit a good one. It is a similar feeling to hitting the golf, tennis or baseball just right. The mediocre just fade away (thus the need to search before writing) and the poor are best forgotten. This one is probably one of the latter but 134 posts is still pretty amazing for a science/computer teacher. Maybe I can write that novel.

2 Responses to “Creating Posts”

  1. gramajan August 1, 2013 at 12:35 PM #

    The secret of writing is just to keep writing. And then re-write, and re-write again. Yes, you can write that novel. You don’t have to begin at the beginning and continue to the end–you can start in the middle, or do a handful of scenes and lace them together. It helps to find a writing group, or at least come up with a handful of readers who will help help you polish it.

    • compterteach August 3, 2013 at 7:01 PM #

      Thank you for the support. When I advance beyond this blog I’ll ask for that reader review!

Leave a Reply

