The Start of the School Year

11 Aug

This is a special weekend here in Texas. There is no sales tax of shoes, clothes, or school supplies this weekend only to help parents buy school clothes for the coming school year. The newspaper has been filled with ads for school clothes and supplies for the last 2 weeks. Although the weather says it is seriously summer, school will start at the end of the month.

For the first time in almost 15 years, I will not be making plans for the upcoming school year. I am not on the online teaching plan and it doesn’t really bother me. Maybe I am really starting to embrace this retirement thing. It feels good to not worry about software versions or textbooks. There are times when I am not sure how I should spend my free time when I am between house projects, but that indecision passes quickly. It turns out my real issue is trying to balance energy levels with so many choices.

I have to admit I am still not back to 100% since that silly head injury. I’ve discovered that allergy attacks also aggravate vertigo.  If I’m not dizzy from one thing, I am dizzy from something else. I have been putting the tile backer into the new shower area. Looking up and looking down has bumped up the dizzies as has the allergy runny nose. It is also too warm outside (97) to want to work outside cutting the next piece so maybe I need to go back to that book I was reading. At least reading has more to do with the start of school that Halloween candy being stacked at the dollar store in the middle of August!

Leave a Reply

