Paperless Society

14 Jan

I laughed when I first heard the term “paperless society” in the early 1980’s. Like the late 80’s declaration that the floppy disk was dead, the time to truly reach the end of a type of technology can be hard to predict. Beta tapes fell quickly to VHS but unlike the Beta tape you can still buy both the tapes and the machines to play those tapes on. Those machines do come with a DVD player although not usually a Blue Ray DVD but I ramble. I really want to focus on paperless.

I pay 97% of our bills online. Until the US Post Office lost the package this last month containing my granddaughter’s Christmas gift, my husband had insisted that mailing payments was just fine. Because I am still fighting with the unresponsive Post Office system, he has conceded that I might have a point. If the bills are paid online, I should not have a reason to have a 4 drawer file cabinet full of file folders but I do. The doctor bill settlements still come in paper form as do the Medicare Summary statements. They don’t ever seem to come at the same time so the bills go into my account book on my desk. The Medicare statements are stacked on my desk until I sit down to organize them. They are joined by the bills I have paid and not yet filed. In addition there are the credit card offers and checks from the existing credit card companies all awaiting the shredder. There is also a card on the banking app that I really need to add to my cell phone and now the disks for tax software. It is obvious that I do hate to file so I let it stack. 2 to 3 times per month I pay bills so the stacks move from the computer desk to the writing desk which is beside the file cabinet. I don’t think I’ve seem more than 6 inches square of free space on that writing desk in a year. despite getting the filing done once a month. There are always a few leftovers awaiting an action left on the desk.

I have reduced the mass of new books that we have purchased either new or used. Harry can’t read the ones he has and I’m limiting myself to Kindle versions. The only new book added to a bookshelf was from a textbook publisher who sent a free copy of the book I had reviewed so I could see my name in print once again. I have even stopped buying cookbooks. My current collection has a prominent place in my new kitchen but I didn’t really leave room for adding too many new ones. Costco sold a number of cookbooks from countries that I hope to visit some day. The books are fun to read because they talk about the climate and customs of different regions in those countries. I may never visit sunny Spain but I’ve learned a lot about the different areas of the country. I do use the old classics in my collection to check for baking times or temperatures and I pull others to page through looking for something different to cook. They inspire me to try something different.

Harry opened a can of corned beef recently thinking it was his beloved Spam. He did make a sandwich but most of the can headed to the refrigerator. I had just fixed hash so neither of us were ready for the extra fat dish. Turning to the Internet I searched for canned corned beef recipes. The first group offered variation on hash but I kept looking. At last I found one for corned beef and cabbage meatballs. It was wonderful. I did dash between my computer in the living room and the kitchen because I had not booted up my laptop and I really didn’t want to print out the recipe. It is, after all, a paperless society.

 

Leave a Reply

