Project Progress

16 Feb

It seems like forever since I last sat down to write but our master bath only needs some trim, caulk and most importantly the plumber and it will be done. It was not an easy process when the temps stayed below freezing during the day as well as night. Our house has no insulation and limited heat sources so some areas just don’t get as warm as I might like them. The temps are now higher and the room is more sealed up so the paint could dry! Once the bath fixtures are in, I can move all of the bath things out of the bedroom.

Life might settle down again although the 8 foot step ladder will still be inside. I’ll probably put drywall tape on the crack in the hallway ceiling when the house was leveled. On our supply run today, I do plan to pick up paint for the hallway which will be the same neutral color that will be used in the living room and dinning room. I had planned to do something more dramatic in the dinning room but I no longer remember what that was. The lower half of the walls are covered by book cases, suitcases and a trunk so that removes the wainscoting plans.

I used bead board wallpaper in the master bath. I wanted the look of bead board but didn’t want the thickness of it. The paper was on clearance at $6.15 a roll. I bought 6 rolls and only needed 1 1/2 for the bath.  After is was painted blue to match the blue flowers in the upper wall paper (Grandma’s house style) it really looks good even up close. I’ll use another roll in the family room in the alcove we created for the television. I’ve also decided to use it in the lower third in the hallway. That hallway is really the core for this house with the living room and dinning room at one end, the kitchen and family room at the other and bedrooms in the middle. The hall is also a true room itself with doors at either end.  It will soon be patched and painted so my photos can find a happy home in this house. That is a major step up from drywall storage! Harry and I have started to argue about the lighting for the space. Track lighting may not be pretty but it is very effective for lighting wall displays. I don’t want to hang my favorite flower photos or old family collections where they can’t be seen.

In between the papering and painting, I plan to work outside this week. The neighbor has offered to use his rototiller on my garden space. He said I really should have my onions and potatoes in by now. He might be right but the last two weeks have been just too cold to do anything but walk the dog. We’ve jumped from highs of 33 to highs of 66 and up. Maybe Spring is finally on its way. What kind of outside  projects can I start next?

 

One Response to “Project Progress”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Editing Revisions | Time2Retire - January 3, 2015

    […] 3) Master bedroom before and after […]

Leave a Reply

