Thanksgiving Recipes

23 Nov

Most families have their favorite recipes for the holidays. They are faithfully passed down from one generation to another. We do not really do that. Harry and I each had been the one in our families who fixed the turkey and stuffing for Thanksgiving and only I had the tradition of a roast for Christmas.  Harry consented to let me do the stuffing and the bird when we joined forces. He admitted my beer basted bird was far better than any butter basted he had made.  The idea of using beer was something I did get from my father but that was from his BBQ chicken.

I like minemeat pie but no one else does and I don’t really need to eat one all by myself. Harry likes pecan pie but again he really doesn’t need to eat the whole thing. We both like my pumpkin crunch rather than pumpkin pie so that will be a yes for the table. I was pleased to see that recipe included in the “Favorite Holiday Recipes” in the Celebrate the Holidays 2014 magazine included in our Sherman, TX newspaper. They called it Pumpkin Delight which is a fitting name.

The stuffing will be a basic bread with sage rather than a southern cornbread variety. The bread will be a mix of leftover ends from my homemade bread frozen before they could mold over the last few months. Freezing drys them as well as keeping them clean and safe for later. I will use fresh sage from my herb garden. I may also use a few of the remaining green onions although they may be added to the green beans instead.

I like to fix a fresh orange cranberry relish in addition to canned whole cranberries. I have a recipe for a cranberry salad with layers of whole cranberry, raspberry jello, pineapple and sour cream but even cutting the recipe in 1/2 still gives me more than I can eat. I’ll dice up fresh pineapple to mix with the relish for variety with the turkey sandwiches and pretend it is that jello salad.

Neither of us like candied yams so they will not be included although in past years I have included whipped sweet potatoes to go with the regular whipped potatoes. Even I will admit they just weren’t as good with the homemade turkey gravy so I dropped that dish.  This year I will try a new pumpkin – yam side that we both really enjoyed when we stayed at the Madewood Plantation in Napoleonville, LA.  I’ll cut the recipe into 1/3 which should work. Maybe this will be a new Thanksgiving favorite.

Madewood Pumpkin Lafourche

1 can of pumpkin
3 cans drained yams
6 medium apples, peeled, cored, & sliced
2 cups sugar
1 cup golden raisins
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 stick of butter

Mix pumpkin and yams until smooth. Add apples, sugar, raisins, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg until blended. Melt butter and mix thoroughly. Bake 250 degrees for about 30 minutes.

Compliments of Madewood Plantation House
4250 Hwy 308, Napoleonville, LA 70390
985 369 7151

See Baked Pumpkin Lafourche to make the dish from scratch.

Leave a Reply

